Thanks and Credits

About the project

The Correspondence of George Yeats and Thomas MacGreevy is a sub-collection of The Thomas MacGreevy Archive, an interdisciplinary project exploring the life, work, and relationships of Thomas MacGreevy (1893-1967), Irish poet, art and literary critic, and Director of the National Gallery of Ireland (1950-1963).

About the collection

The Correspondence of George Yeats and Thomas MacGreevy consists of some 150 letters over 43 years, from 1922-1965. These letters give a tantalizing glimpse into a world of Irish arts, culture, and politics. These letters, intimate, gossipy, and extremely honest, paint a portrait, not only of their lives, but of their wide extended circle.

We are grateful to the late Senator Michael Yeats for not only giving us permission to publish his mother's letters, but for his unwavering support of the project, and to the National Library of Ireland for giving us permission to reproduce images of Thomas MacGreevy's letters. Thanks are also due to Margaret Farrington and Robert Ryan, executors of Thomas MacGreevy's estate, for allowing Thomas MacGreevy's letters to be reproduced here, as well as to the Trustees of the Board of Trinity College Dublin for their permission to republish the letters of George Yeats.

Thanks are due to Ann Saddlemyer, for her elegant annotations, to Tanya Clement, Sean Daugherty, Aiden Faust, Gretchen Gueguen, and Jennifer Roper for their technical support and expertise.


For comments, questions, and suggestions regarding the site, please contact:

Susan Schreibman
Assistant Dean, Head of Digital Collections and Research
University of Maryland Libraries
McKeldin Library
University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742
Telephone: 301-314-0358
Fax: 301-314-9408


Content Editor

Susan Schreibman and Ann Saddlemyer

Encoding Development

Susan Schreibman and Gretchen Gueguen

Database design and development

Amit Kumar

Website Design

Eric White and Sean Daugherty

Metadata design

Jennifer Roper and Gretchen Gueguen

Introduction, Notes and Annotation

Susan Schreibman and Ann Saddlemyer